What are the different types of Advocacy?

There are many different types of independent advocacy support; we help with mental health, healthcare and social care advocacy.

Whilst we work across many types of advocacy, our main strands are:

  • Mental Health Advocacy (IMHA)
    • An automatic right for people detained or discharged with restrictions under the Mental Health Act. Helping them to understand their rights and support them through the process of care and treatment.
  • Mental Capacity Advocacy (IMCA)
    • For those assessed as lacking in capacity under the Mental Capacity Act and with no-one appropriate to consult in specific decisions such as Serious Medical Treatment or Changes of Accommodation.
  • Care Act Advocacy
    • Advocacy for people with care and support needs
    • Individuals or Carers with the appearance of ‘substantial difficulty’ in being fully involved in care and support planning with no-one appropriate to help them.
  • NHS and Social Care complaints
    • Practical assistance for any person making a complaint about any health or social care issue.

These types of advocacy are known as Statutory Advocacy.

We are always extending our advocacy services, if you think you need an advocate, contact us now.

See more – Types of Advocacy.